VITA Volunteer Training

VITA Volunteer Training at 12-15 40th Avenue, Long Island City, NY  11101

We make sure that all our volunteers have the best quality training. It’s imperative that the volunteer have a thorough understanding of Tax law for the taxpayers and for themselves.

Training Methods and Resources:

Classroom Style Instruction (Recommended)– Classroom sessions provide face-to-face training for volunteers working toward their certification. Several dates and times are available to fit volunteer’s schedules. The training will cover Volunteer Standards of Conduct, Intake/Interview & Quality Review process, Tax Law and Application, and TaxSlayer (tax preparation) software training. Classroom style training is recommended for first-time volunteers or those who wish to build on their knowledge. Training will begin in November and run until January. See below for the training schedule.

Independent Study– Volunteer tax preparers have the option of completing tax training independently through various online resources that provide required training and certification courses. Independent Study is recommended for returning volunteers and those with tax preparation experience.

Additional Support– Optional study sessions will be available in January for volunteers that would like one-on-one support. If not available to attend, volunteers can always ask questions by phone or email.

 

Training Dates

What’s covered: Volunteers will learn what VITA is and how it plays an integral part in our community, roles and responsibilities of various volunteer positions, the process of becoming a VITA volunteer, Volunteer Standards of Conduct, and Intake/Interview & Quality Review Process. Also covered is an overview of Tax Law and Application, structure of certification and exam, introduction to TaxWise and TaxSlayer (tax preparation software), and how to successfully prepare a tax return using TaxWise and TaxSlayer.

*These sessions may be rescheduled if printed materials have not arrived

 

Thursday, November 15, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, November 16, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, November 19, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, November 20, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, November 26, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, November 27, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, November 28, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, November 29, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, November 30, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, December 3, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, December 6, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, December 7, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, December 10, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, December 13, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, December 14, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, December 17, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, December 18, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, December 19, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, December 20, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, December 21, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, December 27, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, December 28, 2018 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, January 3, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, January 4, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, January 7, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, January 8, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, January 9, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, January 10, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, January 11, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Monday, January 14, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Tuesday, January 15, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Thursday, January 17, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Friday, January 18, 2019 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

 

*These sessions may be rescheduled if printed materials have not arrived.